Phil Mickelson takes 2-shot penalty for hitting a moving golf ball!

U.S. Open: Phil Mickelson melts down, hits still-rolling ball

U.S. Open: Phil Mickelson melts down, hits still-rolling ball

Hitting a moving ball incurs a two-stroke penalty, and Mickelson was eventually assessed with a six-over 10 at the par-four hole. He has been confronted with countless rulings during his 49 professional wins but, for all that Mickelson has experienced, what occurred on the 13th hole on Saturday at the US Open has to go down as the most extraordinary sequence of his storied career.

A loophole that some will consider against the general ethos of the game, Mickelson confirmed that there were "multiple times he wanted to do it" before today's incident on the 13th.

Phil Mickelson knows how to celebrate his birthday.

Some insisted that Mickelson's actions were against the spirit of the law and could be considered a "major breach" of the Rules of Golf, which result in disqualification.

The chuckles continued on the next hole, when Mickelson tried to pull off a gravity-assisted trick shot.

"I didn't feel like going back and forth", he told reporters.

The third round of any of golf's majors is known as moving day, but former world number two Phil Mickelson may have that a little too literally in the US PGA.

The incident on Mickelson's 48th birthday brought to mind a similar episode by John Daly during the 1999 U.S. Open at Pinehurst No. 2.

His playing partner, Andrew "Beef" Johnston from England, who came home in 44 to sign for an 82 which left him in last place, described the incident as "one of those mad moments" but admitted he could not help but see the amusing side.

Tiger struggles in first round at US Open
He bogeyed the 11th, then made successive double bogeys on 13 and 14, including a four-putt on the 13th. Watch the US Open throughout the week live on Sky Sports.

Later, after acknowledging he was using Rule 14-5 to his advantage, Mickelson called USGA officials.

'That's absolutely fantastic, that's Phil basically giving up and saying, "No more",' David Fay, a former executive director of the United States Golf Association, said on American television.

CURTIS STRANGE: Does it show disrespect to the Championship?

"That can happen, [but] that's not what we operated under here, " Bodenamer said.

"The real question is, 'What am I going to do next?'" he said. "But it was just a moment-I think it's just a moment of madness".

No, this was Mickelson's attempt to be the smartest guy in golf once again.

This is one of the more surprising things you'll see.

He said, 'I don't know what [my] score that is. "Just because I make a lot of birdies and I hit it with length and the putter can get hot". When you ask people who they're rooting for, Phil's name always comes up.

Recommended News

We are pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news.
Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper.
Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.