Facebook will let Android users turn off its location data gobbling

Android users can now disable background location sharing with Facebook

Android users can now disable background location sharing with Facebook

The new privacy settings will enable Android users to opt out of location tracking when they aren't actively using the app and have greater control over how much of their location data is saved by the social media giant.

A good news for Android users concerned about ambiguity regarding Facebook's location settings.

A new update to Facebook's Android app adds an option that lets you turn off location sharing even when the app isn't running.

"Most of the complaints that people have towards Android Pie's gestures focus on the presence of the dedicated back button and the difficulty of performing the long swipe up of the pill to open the app drawer". Apple's iOS gives you three choices over how to share your location with an app.

Pulwama Terror Attack: Pakistan Writes to UN, Seeks Intervention to 'De-escalate' Tension
Pakistan's Foreign Minister Shah Mahmood Qureshi appealed to Guterres to step in to defuse tensions, in a letter seen by AFP . Pakistan has reacted to India's threats of retaliation by declaring that it had no hand in last week's terrorist attack.

TutuApp is a reliable Android application that allows users to download and use Paid apps for free. Users who had location history turned on will find the new control is set to "on". You have to go to your phone's Settings for this then enable Unknown Sources.

Unlike iOS, Android only offers two options when it comes to granting app permissions - allow and deny. Apparently, the company will use its Play Protect service to warn users an app they're about to install targets an older API level. It should be noted that this update will neither require any new information to be collected nor will it affect the privacy choices made by users before the update. But the company will send a similar alert to everyone who chose to turn on Location History in the past so they can check to make sure their settings are right for them.

Of course, Android users still can continually ping Facebook with their exact position, though there are zero compelling reasons why anyone would want to.

Click on Location and select your preferred setting. "It also helps us recognise if your account has been compromised". To utilise features like Nearby Friends or Location tagging for your photos, location access is actually needed. On the other hand, people who never turned the location history on would not be required to do anything.

Recommended News

We are pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news.
Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper.
Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.